23 Jul 2018

Germany, France and Belgium make team announcements

It has been a day full of announcements as the European Championships draw ever closer, with France, Germany and Belgium all making selections for the inaugural event in Glasgow and Berlin.

The French cycling squad includes Alexis Gougeard and Audrey Cordon-Ragot on the road, as well as Juliette Labous, Johan Le Bon and Yoann Paillot.

The BMX team includes two-time world champion and reigning European champion Joris Daudet, who will be looking to defend his continental crown at the Glasgow BMX Centre.

Double European silver medal winner Stephane Tempier heads up the mountain biking team, alongside Julie Bresset, Sabrina Enaux and Pauline Ferrand-Prevot

And the track team chosen by Bruno Lecki includes three-time European champion Corentin Ermenault in a seven strong men’s team, as well as a solid women’s team coming to the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome.

The German rowing teams have also been released, with the men’s eight seeking out a second successive European title. They’ll have to perform well to beat the British team however who will be buoyed on by the home crowd.

Lars Wichert has also been selected and the three-time world champion in the LM1x will hope to add a European title to his collection.

Nine athletes have been named in the German triathlon team for Glasgow, including European sprint champion Laura Lindemann in the women’s team and Saarbrucken’s Justus Neischlag – they’ll be hoping to ruffle some feathers at Strathclyde Country Park.

The Belgium track teams include sprinter Nicky Degrendele, the 2016 European Championships silver medallist, alongside Ayrton de Pauw in the men’s sprint team.

There are six riders in the women’s endurance team and five in the men’s, including national champion Shari Bossuyt and pursuit veteran Kenny De Ketele.

The moment is drawing closer as federations continue to announce their squads coming to Glasgow & Berlin and the talent on display will be World class.